Tags

, ,

Let me start off saying , I hated upma and particularly detested this one. That is till i had to cook for myself and my source of easily accessible Indian delicacies died.

Upma is the first dish R made for me after we were married and was a source of sustenance for a long time while he digested the fact that i was completely clueless in the kitchen. So upma holds nice memories now!!!  Plus I decided my kids will never be so useless and hence teen R can make his favorite foods – yes the bland mac n cheese, chilli toast, grilled cheese, kichidi etc., etc., at least he wont starve.

Now coming to this particular upma, I love it now. I have no idea why. I tweeked it from the authentic Iyengar version to add a bit more dal ( more protein?) and reduce the carbs .

I can eat it for days with pickle , chutney and yogurt

so here’s the recipe.

Raw rice – 1 cup
Thoor dhal  – 1 cup
Pepper / jeera – 1 spoon
Salt – to taste
Water – 4 cups
oil ( coconut/gingelly whatever)  – 2 tablespoon
To temper
Curry leaves
Urad dal – 1 tablespoon
Chana dal – 1 tablespoon
Mustard  – 1 teaspoon
Red chilly – 2

Method

Soak rice and dhal and spread to  let dry..

Grind thoor dhal, Pepper and Jeera for 1 min and prepare a coarsely grind powder, Add rice to the above mixture and grind coarsely . heat a pressure cooker, add Oil + items to temper. Add 4 cups of water + salt and allow it to boil turn to low flame and add the powdered rice mixture and mix it thoroughly, I close it and set it for 1 whistle. and done.

  • Can be done minus the pressure cooker, just close the lid and let it cook in low for a while.
  • The coconut oil + curry leaves gives it amazing flavor.
  • If using a cooker make sure it doesn’t turn to mush.
  • I initially used to do it on the stove till I figured out the cooker method.
  • It needs to be loose and powdery not pongal like mush.
  • I use Vitamix so grinding to rava like consistency is easy.
  • Friends i know use rice rava with the same result.