Tags

, ,

          We have a possum in our garden or something like that . It’s a pest a PEST.. which recently discovered that in one of the planter I have on my deck I grow lettuce. and he /she is seriously after that. That planter also has pickling cucumbers , lettuce and green chili plant , That dratted possum ate the lettuce, I put a net and it still came and ate the newly growing lettuce. I tucked the net in and the next day it ate all the cucumber plants.. Seriously I’m fed up. today evening I’m going to tape the net to the container…
           I’m so mad at this animal. luckily it hasn’t found my 4X8 raised bed organic garden which is lush with all kinds of veggies…It also doesn’t seem to  like tomatoes..R thinks that’s  temporary , once it figures that I sealed the lettuce its going after my tomatoes. The only reason I have these few plants away from my raised bed is to protect it from all kinds of wildlife around this place and now this !!! The family is suggesting all kinds of ways to keep it away but short of killing it I cant seem to stop it and I cant kill it. not for some lettuce, cucumbers and my pride and joy either 😦
                  It is the most brazen thing ever, has no fear and is desperate for my plants when we are surrounded by wild woods, we even have wild raspberries and black berries for gods sake, yet it is after my lettuce.My healthy tasty organic lettuce…and its a fight now.. a non-violent yet desperate fight… lets see who wins.. in the meantime no lettuce for us…
On a positive note,
                   Green beans, Spinach, Eggplant , Peppers, Zuchhini and tomatoes are growing and actually producing edible stuff, all of them !!!! unlike a few years when we have got only healthy leaves on some. A lot of healthy leaves…
Of course I realize kale is really a weed and no matter what it grows. Its been banned from coming inside. apparently the kale dal and smoothies  I make are beyond edible. 🙂  teen R suggested I lace the lettuce with some of that and he swears the possum wont touch it after that  .. he thinks it may even flee the neighborhood in fear for its life . hmm guess whats for dinner tonight  ??
