Tags

, , , ,

                    I joined a Gym ,me the only walk outside lover and I love it, Miracles do happen . I go late at night, very late and there’s hardly anyone there. I walk, jog, bicycle whatever. Heck i even did a spot of the stairmaster !!!  Do a bit of  weights ( for my bones) and mostly languish in the Sauna 🙂 yep that’s why I go. To bake in the heat. SAUNA !!!!!

                   They even have a pool heated at a balmy 85 F , Exactly my kind of heaven, although I’m no swimmer I can swim with a prop, I’m tempted to take lessons . I haven’t still worked up the courage to hit the pool with a board. I see these women swimming up and down lanes without even a splash and I hesitate to get in since all I’m doing is splashing around.  but for now I’m happy with the solitude , my music, and mostly the sauna 🙂

                    I might do the workout class on Sunday seems OK,  but for the life of me I can’t join Zumba or any other umpteen number of classes offered, I simply don’t know the moves I like the solitude too much. The only drawback is I come back starving at 10pm and eat like I haven’t seen food all day , so this is going to make me healthier  but certainly not lighter oh well cant have it all.

                    Recipe for sprouts tomato kurma that is simply yummy and smell awesome, that was what attracted me to it, the aroma wafting from the cafeteria during lunch while i ate my cold salad . I tried it this past weekend and still eating leftovers. I Made this with Moong sprouts but I guess it could work with any kind. According to my friend S , the giver of recipes this is a Chettinad variant. whatever it is its super. The ingredient list is long but its a breeze to make.

Ingredients
Sprouts – 2 cups
Tomato – 3
Onion – 1
Salt – to taste

Tamarind paste – 1/2 spoon
oil – 2 tsp
Cinnamon – 1/4 inch
Cloves – 2
Cardamom – 1

Blend to a paste:
Coconut – 3-4 spoons
Fennel Seeds – 1 spoon
Ginger – 1/4 inch piece
Green Chillies – 2 or to taste
garlic , cashews – a few
Poppy seeds – 1 tsp optional .

Method

Lightly heat all the to grind ingredients except coconut and blend to a paste. heat oil in a  pan, add cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, followed by Onion, once this is cooked a bit add  tamarind , tomato and salt, Saute well, add the blended paste and a bit of water ( 1 cup) let it simmer for 5 min and then  toss in the sprouts , cook for 10 more min and done.

  • Can add in red chili powder for heat, but we are the wimpy family
  • Apparently more coconut makes this very tasty. but then I just joined a gym so going easy on that.
  • Garnishing with coriander makes this even  more awesome, But i rarely make it to that stage .
