Tags

, , ,

             My workplace holds a health fair every year with freebies, flu shots, Massage and such. I mainly go to get away from my desk and for the massage 🙂 but this year they were offering gourmet food samples too . I happened upon a salad, made with carrots and cucumbers and the samples were awesome. These were super delicious and the veggies were made into noodles. I think It was a spiralizer. I want that but I’m on a  no-extra appliance kick so I’m resisting buying that. Plus we are not that low-carb and  the kids would kill me if I took away their source of carb, laden noodles and fed them veggies as noodles instead.. ha ha that would be so funny. placing a plate of carrot noodles in front of Teen R , Id love to see his face hmmm someday I will.

          I just chopped the veggies into sticks and used it and the 2nd time  made sure to buy pre-cut carrot sticks 🙂 the dressing is really awesome. and this is quite filling as lunch. I’m trying out 1 salad a week. i make enough for lunches for 2 days for me and R ( sometimes 🙂  )  . for now that’s about all I  can manage so lets see how long this lasts.

Ingredients for dressing

2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons Rice vinegar
1 teaspoon sesame seed oil
1/2 teaspoon honey or agave nectar ( optional)
2 tablespoons lime juice
pinch of salt and pepper
1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes
Salad
1 large cucumber, cut into noodles or not.
2 large carrots, cut into noodles or not
1 cup Garbanzo beans /chick peas cooked.
1 large handful of cilantro, chopped
1 small handful of mint, chopped
1 avocado cut into 1″ cubes ( optional)
½ cup peanuts

Method

Pretty much self-explanatory, cook chick peas, chop everything else, mix dressing , pour and done.

  • Add peanuts in the end if you want it to be crunchy, but we add everything in and toss.
  • I went a bit higher on lime juice since I love the tang.
  • A spoon of peanut butter and chopped ginger can be added in the dressing too.

 

