Tags

, , , ,

                  Bhindi is a loved and hated vegetable at home. I cant stand it but For some reason I can cook Bhindi without tasting it and it comes out Awesome ( something I cannot duplicate with anything else ) . This recipe is quite easy and supposedly very tasty especially since I can easily rinse them and lay them out to dry and get the kids to chop off the ends and slit them 🙂  It’s barely any effort on my part for the supposedly spectacular results.

Yay , Spring is finally here , hopefully no more frost at night, This year I’m going to try growing Bhindi and a few untried veggies in my raised bed garden, which is another story altogether, We’ve spent the past weekend prepping it, spending more time, effort and energy building a sturdier fencing and covering with bird net and what not, I think we spend more effort to keep the animals out than actually growing anything 🙂 lets see who wins this year . So far planted snap peas, kale and Brussel sprouts . Also added in more organic mix in an effort to keep it healthier. lets see what I  murder this year.

Ingredients

Chickpea flour (besan) – 2 tbsp
Peanut powder – 2 tbsp
Coriander powder – 1 tbsp
Red chili powder – 1 tsp
Dry mango powder  – 1 tsp
kasori methi – 1/2 tsp
Garam masala – 1 tsp
turmeric – 1/2 spoon
Oil -1 tbsp
Sugar – 1/2 tsp
Salt to taste
Bhindi
Oil to drizzle.

Method

Rinse the bhindi and lay to dry, Once dry, trim the ends and make a slit. Roast  peanuts and besan and powder with other ingredients , add a bit of water and oil and make into a paste. Stuff paste in bhindi . Line a baking tray ,lay Bhindi cut side up ,drizzle oil and bake at 400F for 15 min, turn the Bhindi and bake for another 10 min. Done.

  • I Have never tasted this so I’m going by R’s and Ms.A claims on this one.
  • I can however attest to the fact it uses less oil and less effort.
  • This looks spectacular arranged in a White dish , and can be used as an appetizer I guess.
  • The stuffing can be any combination , Doesn’t have to be the one i did.
