Tags

, , ,

                 Its cold here, Very Very cold, so cold that the cold seeps into my bones and chills me from inside. Our whole family usually holes up in the tiny library/office room with its south-facing windows and let the sun soak us , The electric heater never stops even though we have regular air, we shut the doors and keep that room at 72F sometimes higher 🙂 even then I feel the cold. I’ve taken to drinking hot water with lemon all the time , seriously I’ve become my grandma. Its old age !! sigh.. This time to top it I have a cold and I suspect I’m passing it on to the kids, So we’re trying to limit its effects with lots of Vitamin C, soups etc., I called home mid-week and everyone was concerned ( yep by a simple cold ) I realized It’s because we been over the permanent cold stage for a while now , when the kids were younger someone always had a cold at home, Always. so grandma’s got used to it, now for the past few years they haven’t heard the sniffling and worry at a sneeze. Anyway they reminded me to drink plenty of Molagu seeram sathumudu aka  Pepper-jeera Rasam. and in spite of me telling them I knew the recipe and has access to a million books and sites, I was sent this recipe 🙂 so in their honor I’m posting it. I usually mangle their authentic recipe beyond recognition, but here it is.

                  I roast a couple of garlic pods in ghee and boil it with the tamarind and add turmeric but then that’s not the true Iyengar version I’m told. But I will be adding it to this recipe tonight ,psychologically I feel better when I add Garlic and turmeric , and will drinking cups of this yummy broth in the hope I’m cold free tomorrow ( yes I’m an optimistic soul by nature). This is the recipe for Teen R and Ms.A to use in future when they get a cold, handed down from their grandma’s with an iron clad Assurance from them that it will cure the cold faster 🙂

Ingredients

  • Tamarind (puli) – size of lemon or a spoon of paste
  • Pepper – 2 teaspoon
  • Toor dhal – 2 teaspoon
  • Cumin (Jeera) – 1 teaspoon
  • Red chilly – 3 ( optional if you prefer less spice)
  • Asafoetida – 1/4 teaspoon
  • turmeric – optional
  • Salt to taste
  • Ghee – 1 spoon , Mustard, Curry leaves (Curry leaves)

Preparation

       Roast and Grind pepper, Toor dhal, Cumin, chilly, few curry leaves and asafoetida to a fine powder and paste. I make a paste. Take 2 cups tamarind juice. Add salt,turmeric + curry leaves and Boil. Add the ground spice powder to this and continue heating for a few minutes till its frothy. Heat a spoon of ghee in a separate pan, add mustard and curry leaves .  Add this to the Rasam.

  • I would surely add garlic, either roast and grind with the paste or at the very least boil with tamarind.
  • It’s a simple easy recipe taking not more than 10 min .
  • Tastes excellent with chips .
