Tags

, , ,

             Its august now and temp is getting cooler. So we’re in a mad rush to enjoy every day and weekend. which leaves the house, garden, laundry, cooking etc sadly neglected, the raised bed gardening experiment is a partial success. Learned from my mistakes or rather still learning them I should say. Some of the highlights –

  • Beans crop was awesome. Thankfully it was before the animals discovered the garden.
  • Tomatoes, Zucchini, Cucumbers and green chilies in abundance.
    Tomato plants are overgrown monsters that trail over the fencing and go the other side. Next year I have to keep them trimmed , trail them up and not let them droop to the ground.
  • My tolerance and love and principles of Non-violence are taking a toss. I would now like to take a gun and blow the garden destroying Animals.
  • Spent 2 evenings , cleaning up the plants , fixing the fencing and planting carrots, beets and radishes seeds… lets hope the fall bounty continues.

                  In all its been a fun exercise and a reasonable crop and there is such great satisfaction in eating the food grown at home, I swear it tastes better too. and since we’re bathing in Squash and cilantro, a recipe for zucchini more kootu/ majjige huli . Given by my friend B.

                  I’ve eaten this at her place in Bangalore many a time, her mom’s food is exceptional. and this is aunty’s recipe, which B can duplicate exactly, I on the other hand haven’t mastered that art 🙂 yet it would not be in good form for me to go to B’s place whenever I feel like eating this. So I got the recipe and tried this at home. it’s v v good, so tangy and yummy. Most important it’s easy, hence a keeper.

Ingredients
2/3 large summer squash (yellow or green) – cut thick
2-3 cups yogurt cups yogurt
1 cup cilantro.
4 tbl spoons coconut
2 tablespoons roasted gram – pottu kadalai
1-2 green chilies
1/2 teaspoon cumin seed
1/2 teaspoon black mustard seeds
1/4 teaspoon turmeric powder
salt to taste

for tempering
1spn vegetable oil
Asafoetida / cumin seeds /mustard seeds /curry leaves

Method
Microwave or Steam the squash for a few min till half-cooked.
Blend everything else minus the squash and tempering ingredients with 1/2 cup water to a fine paste. Blend in yogurt.
Heat the squash + yogurt mixture + salt on medium till it boils, turn off after a few min of boiling. Heat the oil and add tempering ingredients , pour over curry. Done.

  • This is a very quick dish to prepare and tastes even better the next couple of days, that sold me on this dish.
  • Tastes like moor kuzhambu except the cilantro gives it an even more fabulous flavor.
  • For people like me who can curdle yogurt, this is pretty indestructible.
    Tastes awesome with rice and chips.
