Tags

, , , , ,

Lately I’ve been making this a lot , Kids like it surprisingly . Well Ms.A will pretty much eat anything or at the very least try. Teen R actually likes this , he usually has a pathological dislike to anything green. But then again he’s a teen so who can tell what goes on in his mind. He eats this with goat cheese instead of yogurt as a topping. There’s plenty of recipes out there for this. It’s called Persian ASH soup mostly made for their new year with plenty of variations – vegetarian, vegan, with beef ,without etc etc.,

I just add the following ingredients and cook with a lid on for a looooong time. I set it up in the eve and then let it rest, usually eaten for next days dinner. This is because I read somewhere the flavors meld after a few hrs. and since I cant slurp green soup however healthy at midnight it’s next day’s dinner .. Midnight I reserve for chocolat šŸ™‚ or in an effort to eat less fat , no pudge brownie..

Here’s the recipe.

Ingredients

Onion – 1 chopped
Garlic – 2/3 pods
Garlic – 1 pod minced and fried as topping ( optional)
Carrots – 1/2 cup
Turmeric – as much color as you can stand.
Cilantro – chopped 1 cup
Parsley – chopped – 1 cup
Spinach- chopped – 1 cup.
Green onions – 1/4 cup green parts
Chickpeas – soaked 1/4 cup
Lentils – 1/2 cup ( I use Moong)
Rice – tablespoon
Noodles – 2 tablespoon ( optional)
water — 8 cups or more.
Lime – 1
Yogurt – 1/2 cup ( I prefer Greek)

Saute onion and garlic in olive oil, add turmeric + salt, add the water bring to boil, add all greens and veggies + rice. simmer..add pepper . serve with fried garlic, lime / yogurt drizzled on top.

  • The greens need to be finely chopped. I’m too lazy to do it, so I blend some soup in the end.
  • I close it and simmer for about 2 hrs, I guess this would work really well in a crock pot.
  • Rice or noodles could be added, the traditional Ash-E-Resteh uses noodles.
  • Again this is by no means authentic ( or rather I’m not sure what is or isn’t authentic) but this what we like.
