Tags

, , ,

Dill is a fragrant beautiful herb ( or not depending on your taste buds) . I love it. I first tasted it in Bangalore when added to Akki Roti and from then became a huge fan, the Fact that it’s considered one of the healthier foods is just a bonus. Recently I’ve been hearing of Dill vada from various friends.  Dill has a strong taste and not for everyone. case in point, R and Teen R hate it, But that doesn’t stop me from using it and adding it to roti’s , Dill Roti my absolute favorite  🙂
This weekend was Karthigai, we lit up a gazillion candles , and house looked all cozy, smelled wonderful and was in grave danger of burning up. But it was beautiful and a perfect reason to fry up some Dill vadas to eat with Chai. so I soaked the Dals and made Dill Vada’s and have plenty left over, yep the male half of the household ate a few and decided the taste was too overpowering, Which meant the female half got a lot without having to fight for it , win win for everyone. It is indeed very tasty, but I’d recommend smelling the leaves first and if you cant stand it , don’t add it.

The recipe for this mouth-watering delicacy follows . According to Ms.A – ‘ I LOOOOOVE this green stuff’  yep mommy’s girl.

Ingredients
1/2 cup Channa Dal
1/4 cup Moong, toor and urad dhal
Cinnamon Sticks,Cloves,1 tsp turmeric, Fennel seeds, Red chillies
1 Onion, chopped
2 cups Dill chopped fine
Salt
Oil

Method

Soak lentils in water for couple hours and then grind coarsely without adding water. Dal should be semi ground and keep aside. Grind cinnamon, cloves, fennel seeds, red chillies and to this add onion and  Mix with the Lentils. Then add the finely chopped dill and salt to it and mix well. Take a small ball of the mixture and slightly flatten in the palm and place it in hot oil and deep fry on both sides to a golden brown. done.

  • I ground this pretty Quickly in my Vitamix.
  • The original recipe calls or rice floor and some Rava, but i did without them and it turned out fine.
  • This can be done with just chana dal or any combination, I like to add diff lentils ,just because I have them all.
  • All spices are optional ,except salt and you can add them in any combinations, after all one cannot go wrong with fried stuff.
  • If there’s too much batter for vadas or you lose patience grind them up a bit more and lo behold Dill Adai.
