Tags

, ,

I was browsing thru vegetarian times, and their summer edition is colorful, after drooling at various dishes , smoothies and salad and staring at the magazine for a couple of weeks, I finally got down to making a single dish .

The name is a mouthful  with the amount of ingredients , but it was quite simple when I actually got down to it.

Yes R had to go buy the ingredients and Teen R had to help prep and then I got myself to throw it together with a few tweaks ( can’t help it , have to mess with the recipe) , the result was quite good, and easy so I decided to store it here for future .

This can be eaten as a salad or on rice as a stir-fry and tastes even better the next day.

Ginger-Avocado Sauce

1 Avocados
1 Tbs. Olive Oil
1 Tsp  Honey
2 Tbs. Lemon Juice
1 2-Inch Piece Fresh Ginger
some black pepper and salt.
chilies ( optional)

Broccoli Stir Fry

1 Tbs. Coconut Oil
1 Red Onion Halved and Sliced
2 Cloves Garlic, minced
2 Cups  Spinach shredded
1 Large Head Broccoli cut into florets (~ 3 cups)
2 Cups cabbage shredded
1/4 th cup toasted sliced almonds

Ginger-Avocado Sauce: Place ginger in blender, and mince. Add remaining ingredients, and blend until smooth. Blend in up to 1/2 cup water to thin to desired consistency.

Stir Fry: Heat oil in wok. Add Onion and salt, Stir-fry 5 min, Add garlic and cook 2 more min, Add broccoli and sprinkle water , cover and steam. Add cabbage, steam 2 more min. Finally add the spinach, cover and turn off heat.

In a bowl Place 1 cup broccoli mixture, and drizzle with 2 Tbs. Ginger-Avocado Sauce. Sprinkle with almonds and eat or alternately eat it with brown rice .

  • I went with cabbage and a  little bit of it, the original calls for more cabbage or kale.
  • I also replaced the  sesame seeds with almonds.. since Teen R has braces sesame seeds are not a particularly great idea.
  • I’m sure it is delicious as a cold salad , but I can’t say dinner and  cold in the same sentence , so I warm it up slightly.
  • This goes well with a nice lemony iced tea ( I personally like the long island kind 🙂 )
