Tags

,

This is a version of chilli cheese toast. We eat it as dinner, but tastes excellent  with Chai/ Tea for a lazy afternoon snack. Since I’m not big on entering the kitchen more than once a day, this usually turns up for snack and dinner. We have a smallish toaster oven, I just make this layer it on the bread and cover the whole tray with wrap, who ever is hungry take what they want pop it under the toaster and eat it gooey and melted as and when they please.
Also tastes very  good for some reason with red wine.  yes I know bizarre  but true 🙂 I thought only I loved this since I have fond memories of stuffing myself with masala toast from Iyengar bakery during my life in Bangalore – v v fond memories. But Picky Teen R  surprised me and loved this one. Actually asks for this.

Ingredients

Carrots grated 1/2 cup
Green chilies – 1 or 2 grated.
Green pepper – chopped fine 1 cup
Onions – chopped fine – 1 cup
Cilantro – 1/2 cup
Cheese – grated 1.5 cups
Butter – to lather bread slices
Wheat Bread – or any kind .
salt , Chilli powder to taste

Mix onion, green pepper, carrots, cilantro, green chili, chili powder, salt and cheese.
Butter bread ( this is optional) , pile on the veggie cheese mixture , press into bread slightly  and done.
Line the open-faced bread with filing on a tray and bake at 350F for 5-7 min till cheese melts yet veggies remain slightly crunchy

If eating later cover the tray with a wrap and bake just before eating. or it will be a dry mess.

  • Any cheese is good of course nothing beats Amul cheese when paired with onions and  cilantro. but that could be because I lived on that and it’s burned into my DNA.
  • Omit the cheese and up the spice if you want something Iyengar bakery masala toastish .
  • Ro the green pepper hater actually likes this concoction with a dollop of ketchup on top.
