Tags

,

Idli / dosa milagai Podi is a lentil chili spice mix powder that is mixed with oil and  used as a side dish? for Idli’s, dosas and many other things. I get my powder from my mom, Since I’m a spice wimp this one is tailored for me and is way less spicy than any store-bought ones and even then only R eats it straight with oil, I mix a little bit of unspicy lentil powder ( dal/paruppu powder) and then eat it.

I asked my mom for the recipe since raj consumes this is massive quantities so when we run out we can attempt a new batch or  maybe not.  This one is not ground fine, I’s kind of grainy since that’s the way we like it,  I guess texture depends on the individual tastes. so here goes.

1 Spoon oil
20 Red Chilli
1 Cup Urud Dal
1/2 cup Chana dal
2 Tablespoon Assafoetida/ hing
1 pinch tamarind
Salt to taste
1 table-spoon sesame seeds

Heat oil add all ingredients except sesame and fry on low  till golden brown. Cool, add salt. Fry sesame seeds separately.
Grind all fried ingredients coarsely finally add sesame seeds and grind till incorporated.
Cool. Store it in a dry air tight container

  • Sounds simple eh! not when you are frying the chilies and grinding them up. I usually leave the house the day this is getting made.
  • Burning the chilies apparently causes an acrid smell that never go away . so beware.
  • I have no idea how the added wet tamarind become powder but it does.
