Tags

,

This is a recipe for Puliogarai (Tamarind rice) paste , Authentic Iyengar puliogare since It’s my Mom’s recipe handed down and she’s an authentic Iyengar so 🙂

I’m not a big fan of the Puliogare ( too spicy)  but I’m a big fan of serving up puliogare to folks since it’s as easy as  Make rice, Mix paste and serve. I have never felt the need to ask my mom about the recipe since she keeps me quite well stocked , In between my or her  trips My periamma (aunt) visits and replenishes my stock. My friends on the other hand those don’t have this access to in-family expertise , love puliogare and beg me for the paste, I unfortunately ( or not) live far away from the source and so don’t like to share my rations. Then they ask me for the recipe .. and are surprised when i say ‘ I don’t know’
‘ You never learned’ – Nope.
‘ Do you  have the recipe written down ‘ – Nope .
‘ What happens when your mom cant make it’ –  see,  I don’t think such deep  long-term thoughts about puliogare .

So, in an effort to stem these questions , and share the authentic recipe  ( social service)  I got my mom to send me the puliogare paste recipe and record it for posterity.
so here goes.

Ingredients

1 Full cup of Tamarind
3 Tablespoon Salt ( or to taste)
1 pinch of Turmeric Power
1 Small piece of Jaggery
3 Cups of water

Boil 3 cups of water.  In the boiling water soak tamarind, salt, turmeric & jaggery.
Leave it for an hour.  After its cooled squeeze out about 2 cups of pulp.

Spice Powder

1/2 cup of Coriander seeds
1 tblsp of Methi ( fenugreek seeds)
1 tblsp Asafetida
1 tblsp Pepper
1 tblsp Sesame / til seeds
Dry Red chilli ~ 15

Others

1 cup Sesame /Gingelly Oil / nallaennai
1tblsp Mustard seeds
8-10 curry leaves
Pinch of Asafetida
1 cup raw Peanuts

Dry Roast Methi, coriander, Pepper & Red chilly till  golden brown, switch off stove add Asafoetida  powder.  Roast sesame seeds separately.  Grind all Roasted spices items and finally add sesame seeds to finish grind.

To make the Spice Paste

Heat a  deep thick pan/ kadai in stove.  Pour 1 cup of  oil add mustard seed, raw peanuts , curry leaves and Asafetida,  fry .

To that add tamarind pulp.  Keep it in medium flame.  After it thickens add the fried and grounded Spice powders, stir well and keep it in low flame.  After about 10 minutes ,remove lid and it should be a semisolid paste.  Oil will ooze out of the pulp. ( oh yeah)

Remove  and allow it to cool.

  • Yes this is an eloborate dish, Quite messy and a pain hence the reason I outsource mine to Mom 🙂
  • However This can be stored and quite frankly beats the store-bought paste hands down.
  • Store it in a dry air tight container and refrigerate if storing for  longer periods.
  • This is mixed with cooked Rice and if needed an extra sprinkle of roasted peanuts for crunch and test for salt.
  • Usually served with Chips or vathal or papad ( might as well get all the calories at one shot eh !!)
