Tags

, , ,

My SIL  J has Gujarati roots, which is awesome as I now have access to Authentic Gujarati Dishes. No, not J But her mom 🙂 When I visited them on my latest trip I had a sample of   Muthiyas , I love them and our go to brand is Bhagwathi’s frozen Muthia , works great but depends heavily on our local Patel brothers mood and stock. Lately absent from the frozen aisle and , and when asked was told ‘No stock ,  it’s easy to make ‘ ( really, your inventory is proportional to difficulty of the dish!!!) . Anyway when I ate this at J’s place I thought – wow much better than Bhagwathi’s,  plus I have control over the ingredients , especially the oil ( my pet peeve) .

I got the recipe from J’s mom and tried it and the results of my muthiya experiment was successful, better than Bhagwathi’s . so I record it here to try with another veggie pretty soon. R and A liked this. It was amazing with Chai for a snack at work.
Thank you J and Aunty

INGREDIENTS
1 doodhi (around 600gms)
8 serving spoon  suji/rava  ( around a cup and half)
4 serving spoon besan ( or half of the suji )
1 tbsp chilli ginger paste
2 tsp oil for batter
Pinch turmeric and Asafoetida
Salt to taste
2 teaspoons sugar ( I went with 1spn)
For shallow frying
6 tablespoons oil ( I used 2 and used olive oil spray )
1 teaspoon mustard seeds
1 teaspoon sesame seeds

METHOD
Grate the Doodhi ,Add the Suji, Besan, chilli ginger paste, oil, turmeric, salt, sugar, asafoetida and mix together so that the grated Doodhi is bound together.
Gently shape the mixture into  1  inch thick and 4 inch  long rolls.
Arrange then in pressure cooker separators so that they do not touch each other. ( I made smaller rolls and went with idly plates, to form circles )
Steam  in the pressure cooker with the  weight. Reduce the flame and cook  for 10 minutes after the whistle goes off.
When cool cut into 1 inch pieces. I ate quite a few at this stage itself.
Heat a couple of spoons oil for shallow frying and add mustard seeds and sesame seeds. Add the muthiya’s and shallow fry till light brown.
Serve with coriander chutney or my favorite – Chai !!!

  • Depending on the moisture content in the doodhi the batter may become too hard or too soft. Reduce the Suji and Besan proportionately so that the batter is easily mold-able.
  • Doodhi may be substituted with cabbage/carrots or a combination of all these vegetables.
  • Add  a cup finely chopped and washed  fenugreek leaves for flavor.
  • The steamed Muthiyas can be frozen and later thawed and stir fried , tastes just as heavenly .
