Tags

,

During our India trip , we stayed In Bangalore  at the fabulous apartment of my BIL and co-sis , we had this Nutritional powder/ fruit and nuts milk powder that we drank added to milk, it was amazing and we all loved it, so In an effort to save it for posterity I asked K my co-sis to email me the recipe and maybe – just maybe I may try making it.

I’ve always had a pet peeve against those ” Drink this and you will grow 2 inches more than munna garbage” , After being bombarded with such advertisements , I now question if I should feed such obviously growth enhancing stuff to my kids – yep that’s me the one who  happily chugged down Bournvita, Horlicks, Complan while growing up.. so to replace that occasionally this is an excellent alternative.

It’s easy enough to make once the ingredients are all sourced, so if you  have all of them handy then go for it. It keeps a few weeks I assume. I’m sure in the refrigerator it can be stored months. but the appeal lies in its freshness. Now I’m wondering why on earth i didn’t simply steal the leftover powder from here and bring it with me 🙂

It’s wonderfully flavorful especially I imagine on a chilly morning and Nutritious to boot especially for the kids.

Nutritional mix-in-milk Recipe ( i have no idea what to call it)

Almond / Badam 250 gms
Cashew nuts 250 gms
Pistachios 100 gms
Nutmeg few pinches
Raisins 1 cup
Walnuts 1 cup

Saffron strands 15 for color
Elaichi / Cardamom few

Toast all nuts in pan or microwave whichever way is convenient. They should be crunchy to eat once they cool down(room temp) .
Put all the nuts in a blender and grind to a fine powder. Store in an airtight container . Easy peasy isn’t it?

  • The amounts are in Gms and cups mixed together, I assume you can go up or down a bit  on various nuts and make it up to your desired taste.
